Mental Health -Mrs. Basham and Dr. Chavez-Stuart

Annie Basham

My name is Annie Basham and this is my first year as your social worker. I feel like I have won the job lottery! Iron Horse is an amazing school with such fantastic kids, I feel honored to have joined this community!

Prior to becoming a social worker I was a first grade teacher for thirteen years in Chandler, AZ, Singapore, and Centennial, CO. Needless to say, I love working with elementary aged kids. I have a master’s degree in Educational Leadership in addition in my MSW.

My husband and I are raising two girls who are currently 5th and 8th graders. They will attend the high school that I graduated from as a proud Colorado native.

I look forward to building relationships with you and your kids this school year and beyond. Please feel free to reach out to me with any questions or concerns. 

*Our family picture was taken at the Wizarding World of Harry Potter on New Year's Eve, 2018. All four of us are "from" a different Hogwarts house and it's fitting that I'm a Hufflepuff!

No Bullying Zone.png

Dr. Alejandra Chavez-Stuart


My name is Dr. Alejandra Chavez Stuart and I am so grateful, thankful, and excited to be the new school counselor! Being able to help build up the next generation of innovative leaders, learners, and thinkers is a rewarding opportunity.


Here is a tad bit about my journey. I attended Michigan State University (Go Green!) and received my degree in journalism. I moved to Texas after graduation and obtained my masters in mental health counseling. During this time, I volunteered at an HIV/AIDS clinic and orphanage in Tanzania. Then I moved to Colorado and completed my doctorate in counselor education and supervision. I fell in love with being outdoors and in the mountains and decided to stay! I received my LPC and school counselor certifications and here I am! I was previously a high school counselor for two years and before that was a school based therapist and briefly worked with adults.

I am from three HUGE families and that is probably why I love working with kids and families. I have a French bulldog named Pierre. He has been with me since starting my masters so to say he is a companion would be an understatement. I really enjoy being outside. Hiking, going to outdoor concerts, camping, and just being in nature are my self-care. With families across the United States and world, traveling is also a major passion. My goal is to go to every continent.

That is a lot about me! I look forward to learning more about your and your family!

Thank you for this amazing opportunity and I hope to meet you soon!